The Family Tree

I was recently contacted by a lady that does family research and family trees.

She asked if I had ever considered creating a family tree quilt. Ironically, just the day before I had come across the new Benartex Family Tree online.

Unable to find the fabric locally I loaded up the car and headed down to the Lens Mill Store in Cambridge. I have a feeling Lens Mill is an Ontario only thing. If you have been to a Lens Mill none of them compare to the one it Cambridge. The store is in an old warehouse and the entire basement is packed with fabric of all kinds. The cotton aisle is very impressive, you need to see it to appreciated it. Visit the website for more information about it. http://www.lensmill.com/cambridge
So, I made it to the Lens and I was barely in the door before the cashier came onto the laud speaker that they would be closing in 10 minutes. I must say that is the quickest shopping trip I had ever done. One of the employees helped us find the Family Tree fabric, and I must say it is much more beautiful in person than it is online.

I was able to contact the lady back (www.ancestree.ca) and let her know I found the fabric. She said that was wonderful as she had already been telling her clients about quilted family trees!

The Family Tree

Explore posts in the same categories: fabric, Fabric Store, Quilting

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Family Tree”

  1. Nancy Says:

    did you they have more of this fabric? what was the price. How much would you charge to quilt it and would you add the names. Would you recommend putting the finished product behind glass?

  2. buttonholequiltdesign Says:

    Hi Nancy,

    Yes, there was still some of the panels on the bolt at Lens after I was there. Please contact me directly regarding pricing as there are a number of different options available. Putting the panel behind glass would be nice, it would also help keep the dust off!

    Thanks for your comment,
    Pam


Leave a Reply

