3 Days of Travelling!

Wow, what a busy couple of days this past weekend was!  But it was so much fun.  My mom and I took a road trip – ok two road trips to two different places.

We made a trip down to Toronto – right underneath the CN tower to be exact.

There was even a giant woodpecker there, I guess they grow larger in the city 🙂  Ok, its a fake one, but a neat one.

The reason we were underneath the CN Tower is because the Creativfestival was being held at the International Center.  What an amazing show that is!  We were there for 6 hours and we barely made it through all the booths.  And that was even skipping over booths with scrapbooking and only looking at the quilting and yarn booths!  It was a lot of fun, and I got too meet a lot of people too.  I even, although I tried so hard not too, came home with a few new fabrics…

I don’t have any pictures of inside the show as cameras were not allowed in there…However if you would like more information about the show thier website is: http://www.csnf.com

The other place we travelled to was to Ailsa Craig.  Cotton-by-Post quilt shop has a wonderful exhibit about the quilts of East Africa.  The show was just amazing! The stores website is http://www.cotton-by-post.com/ and they have some information about the African exhibit as well as pictures from the exhibit they held last year about Quilts from Russia.

My mom and I attended an African Beading workshop being held in conjunction with the quilt show.  It was fabulous!  The technique that the teacher, Charu, showed us was very unique and a little challenging at first, but very enjoyable.  My mom and I even picked up all the required supplies so we could keep practicing – I am hoping to have some time this weekend to do some more of it – I hope I remember how!

Charu was very generous and allowed me to take some photos of the samples she brough to show us and post them here for your to see.  She had three different samples that she had done as well as a booklet with photos of the African Tribe where the pieces are still worn today.  She learned how to do the beading in February and she says it only takes her about a day to do some of these pieces!  Amazing.

Individual picture of the green piece

Photo of the blue and yellow piece with shells attached

This is one for a baby

Here is mom working on her beading project.

I will keep you updated on the progress of my own project and post pictures for you to see.

Did any of you make it to the show?

Explore posts in the same categories: fabric, Fabric Store, Patterns, Quilting, Uncategorized

One Comment on “3 Days of Travelling!”

  1. Peggi Says:

    We attended the show on Saturday. The quilts were stunning. My favourite was the Zebras – with all the other animals in the quilting detail – amazing!


Leave a Reply

