New Workshops Scheduled

Well as much as I don’t’ want to admit it, fall is coming.  But, with the coming of fall comes quilting season!

I’ve just released my newest course schedule for September to December.  So if you live in/ around the Flesherton/ Hanover area have a look.  You can look if you are in other areas too, but it might be a bit of a drive 🙂

The last couple of days I have been doing an experiment with my chickens – don’t worry its not really animal testing.  They have started to eat there own eggs, silly chickens, but I can’t get rid of them because of one little problem.  So, I’ve been doing a bunch of research on the topic and it seems as if there is other people that have had the same problem and tried to solve it.

Currently they have a “curtain” hanging in front of their nesting boxes (apparently they like it nice and dark, plus they say they won’t climb under to eat the eggs, just lay them).  There has still been one or two pecked eggs, plus I think I might need to add more bedding into the boxes as a couple of the eggs have been totally crushed…

I’ve also been gathering the eggs more often again.  I was getting lazy and only collecting them twice a day, so now everytime the dogs go out for a pee I go check for eggs.  And I read somewhere that chickens don’t like mustard (go figure) so if you take an empty egg and fill it with mustard after eating that a few times they will stop.

So, I guess now its just a waiting game to see.

Oh, speaking of chickens I’ve designed a Funky Chicken Applique block for you.  The funkiest chickens are the brightest ones.  The next block I might use a less busy background fabric…

funkyChicken

Happy Quilting!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

