A Summary

Was this past weekend the nicest weather or what?  We took the dogs to the bush for a walk…it was enough to have a light jacket on, no mittens or anything.  Plus since it has been cooler there was no bugs…just about perfect.

Remember I told you last week I was going to be teaching a quilting class?  Well all went well…there was 7 students, although one didn’t bring her fabric so there was only 6 cutting and sewing.  Once they got into the swing of things it was smooth sailing.

Some of the fabric they brought in was beautiful stuff…actually there was a sale on at Fabricland so a couple of the ladies brought in similar pieces 🙂

One thing I did learn after that class was how to clean and get fabric fibres out of your cutting mat.  Yep, out of it…I think one of the ladies must have been cutting with all her strength as there was fibres ground into the cutting line (her blade was a little dull to so that probably didn’t help).  Anyways to clean it up I first used an eraser…just a general arts and crafts eraser…that got rid
of some of the fibres..then I used some packing tape, made it into a roll and rolled it over the worst parts, picking up even more fibres…Then out came the bucket of warm water with a tiny squeeze of dish soap and a scrubby sponge…oh and some elbow grease…and tada…an almost back to original shape mat!  Now if only I could figure out how to get the warp out of my other
cutting mat (they are right, you shouldn’t leave them in the sun).

I also took some time to myself this weekend and did some sewing…
The fruit and veggie baskets I was telling you about are all done, I just love how quickly they go together.  Spoiler alert for anyone involved in the swap – I’m going to post some pictures of the blocks so if you don’t want to see them…close your eyes for a second  🙂

grapebaskets Grape Baskets

veggiebasket Veggie Baskets

I was also working on a couple of Puss in the Corner blocks…what a great block that is and its always nice when all your corners line up like magic!  Of course they were mailed away and I didn’t remember to take a picture first!  Sheesh…

Now if you are feeling adventurous and want to try some thread painting I was pointed towards this blog and she is doing some tutorials on Christmas themed thread painting…they look so pretty, I just might try some…one day!  Thread Painting I love the poinsettia…It would add some dimension if for the seeds in the center you added beads…

If you are looking for some more inspiration I have heard that some of the quilts here: Japan Show Are fantastic…unfortunately due to dial up restraints I haven’t seen many of them…

Well now that you are all quilted out its time for dinner!  Yum, homemade pizza… I had no idea that making pizza dough was so easy…now we just have to learn to capture the flavour of canned pizza sauce in a home made version…

pizza

Happy eating….errr, Quilting 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

