A new project, or two?

It was so frosty the other morning my evergreen hedge, wasn’t so green…

I’ve decided that this year I would like to decorate for Christmas.  But, that means I need to make some decorations!

There is a block of the month available at Bunny Hill Designs that is all snowman!  How perfect.  And, even better, its free.  I’ve downloaded the first block, now just need to make it.  My goal is to make each block before the next one comes out, we will see how that works out…

I found another quilt too with snowman, and penguins and santas…its a row-by-row quilt…I kinda signed up to make that one too…

While looking for some patterns I found this site that has a list of a whole bunch of Block of the Month designs.  From what I could tell most, if not all, are free for personal use.  There was some really nice ones, but didn’t figure I should start too many at a time.

I don’t have any new patterns to share, but how about some recipes?

These are the best Tea Biscuits, nice and buttery.

1 cup Flour
1 tbsp sugar
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3 tbsp butter (at room temp)
1 tbsp oil
1/4 cup +2 tbsp milk

Mix Flour, sugar, b.p together.  Add butter and oil, cut butter into mixture.  Add milk.
Stir and knead a few times.  Roll out onto floured cutting board – I use an empty soup can to cut them into circles.
Bake for 12 minutes at 450 F.  This doesn’t make very many, only about 6, so double or triple to your needs.

I also love Quiche – broccoli and cheese of course.

I never realized it was so easy to make, the hardest part is not over or under cooking.

Pie Shell – I cheat and use pie shells from the grocery store.
6-8 eggs (if you are using a deep dish shell use 8)
2 tbsp milk
1/8 cup  Cubes of cheese – whichever is your favorite, I had mozerella.
1/2 cup  cut broccoli – You can use frozen, but I would recommend precooking and draining it.

Prepare pie shell as directed on package (some I think need to be pre baked a little).  Sprinkle cheese and broccoli in bottom of pie shell.
In seperate bowl mix eggs and milk, pour into pie shell.  Bake at 350 for about 45 minutes.  I generally “jiggle” the pan, if it is still jelly in the middle
I leave it in a few more minutes, the center is ussually still soft, but not jiggly – be careful you don’t overcook or your quiche will be chewy.

And of course you need desert!  One of my favourites is Upside Down Chocolate Pudding Cake…done in the microwave, so its quick!
I didn’t want you to have to imagine what this dessert would look like so figure I should make some up to take some pictures…(ok, maybe that is just a good excuse)

Cake
2 tbsp butter (softened)
1 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 cup milk
1 tbs vanilla

Topping
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/4 cup water

Cake:
In microwave safe dish mix together cake ingredients.  Once mixed flatten/ smooth top.

Topping:

In separate bowl mix together 3 topping ingredients.

When all the sugar is dissolved gently pour on top of cake mixture.
Cover with a paper towel and microwave on high for 10 minutes (variable time).  Be sure to keep an eye on the mixture, sometimes it tries to
get out of the dish.  The top will be cakey, the bottom will be puddingy.
Yum.  Its best when warm and would be fantastic with vanilla ice cream.

Happy Quilting!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

