What If I Run Out of Titles?

Is it bad to start off a posting talking about garbage?  Really, I was reading about reducing your environmental  impact and stuff you can do and so forth…one of the things I read was about reducing your garbage amount…so, off I went to the garbage – don’t worry I didn’t touch it 😛  Anyways, what I found was all food packaging, most everything else is either recycled, composted or given to the chickens.  All but this food packaging waste (and we don’t even eat much for preprocessed foods).  But there was the bag from the spaghetti noodles, and the plastic safety seal off the salad.. well you get my point… is it possible to get away from those items?  Even shopping at the Bulk Barn you come home with plastic bags (yep, we asked, you can’t bring your own containers to fill), at least their bags are biodegradable – apparently.  Well, thats enough about trash – just something to think about :-}

Speaking of preprocessed foods we did some baking and cooking this weekend!  Yum.  Nothing like homemade lasagna and fresh muffins.

The lasagna we made using the veggie chili I had made earlier in the week and the muffins I tried out a new recipe, and they are very good (ya, I’m a little surprised…you never know when you make a new recipe).  Its an apple spice muffin, and there is no sugar – sweetened with honey.  Oh, and we made oatmeal raisin cookies and chocolate chip muffins too…

Apple Spice Muffin Recipe

1 1/2 cups oats
3/4 cup white flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour  (don’t forget to add this or the recipe is really runny 🙂
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon (I used 2)
2 medium apples, grated or finely sliced
2 cups milk
1/3 cup honey
2 tbsp butter, melted
1 egg, beaten

Mix first 9 ingredients. Combine “wet” ingredients together, mix, then combine with first 9 ingredients.
Put them into muffin trays, bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.

So easy and so good.  You could probably add nuts or raisins if you wanted, but I didn’t.  Oh, and I wouldn’t recommend putting them in the muffin liners as they don’t come out so well.

Earlier this week there was this stunning look to all the trees, they were covered in a white snow/ ice type stuff.  Maybe it was the fog sticking to them…anyway we went for a walk and I took some photos to share, just in case you weren’t able to get out and enjoy it.  Currently its raining here…then it snows a little and rains some more – yuck.  I think I will put the rest of the pictures into a folder off to the side – that way if you are on dial up (like me
😦 you don’t have to wait for them to load if you aren’t interested…Now if only I can remember how to make a new page…There we go…Winter Walk Photos

Remember how I was looking at doing some different block of the month designs and such?  Well I found this really great one, its barn quilts.  You have probably seen the barns with blocks painted on them (I’ve only seen them in magazines, never in person), and that is what this BOM is about.  January has been the barn block.  Of course, gosh forbid if I was to actually make a pattern the way it was designed!  I’m not too keen on her actual barn, so I made some modifications…hey, its going to be my quilt right 🙂  The big white square in the center is where the mini-quilt blocks will go each month (they are only 4″ square – yikes).

I took yesterday (well part of the day anyway) from housework and did some sewing.  I sewed together some cat quilts I had here, and interspersed them with Puss in the Corner blocks.  The cat blocks were from a sewing group swap were we each made one block for each of the other participants, We ended up with 13 blocks from it.  I was very happy with how the blocks lined up, the corners were beautiful!

Another thing I did yesterday was learning how to put downloadable patterns on the website .  There is only a few of my designs on there at the moment, but my goal will be to eventually get them all into that format.  Its so nice to purchase a pattern and ta-da there it is for you to use!

Well, I guess I should start thinking about something for dinner…its almost a day that warrants thick stew, hearty soup or maybe Boerenkool (if only I had Kale)…

Happy Quilting!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “What If I Run Out of Titles?”

  1. deb Says:

    Wow Pam.. awesome work on your kitty swap blocks love the design you used

  2. Peggi Says:

    Nice quilt! Oddly enough, I have a set of blocks just like those. LOL

    No – still haven’t figured out how to put mine together. But I found some lovely pawprint fabric that will be purrfect for sashing. 🙂


Leave a Reply

